Wearable Index
Based Hardware · Pendant

Omi

Shipping

The Based Hardware Omi is an $179 AI pendant, shipping since 2025. Open-source AI pendant with dual microphones and 512 MB of onboard audio storage, paired with phone and desktop apps for transcripts, summaries and searchable memories.

Compare this device
Based Hardware Omi — pendant worn on the neck
Image sourcedesignboom

Generations

GenerationYearStatusPriceWeight
Omi 2025 Shipping $179 Not disclosed

Specifications by generation

Omi

2025Shipping

Open-source AI pendant with dual microphones and 512 MB of onboard audio storage, paired with phone and desktop apps for transcripts, summaries and searchable memories.

Category
Pendant
Worn
Neck
Release
2025
Price
$179
Weight
Not disclosed
Sensors & hardware
  • Audio Microphone (dual T5838)
  • Compute Compute / SoC (nRF5340)Storage (512 MB)
  • Connectivity Bluetooth

Developer access

    • BLE audio streaming
    • Opus decoding
    • Local Whisper in Swift; provider transcription in other examples
    • Python: macOS, Linux, Windows
    • Swift: iOS, macOS
    • React Native: iOS, Android

    Hardware and OS Bluetooth permissions required; cloud examples require provider credentials.

Documentation
public
App distribution
available

External apps can be submitted through the Omi app for review.

Vendor servers
feature-dependent

Stock summaries, titles, memories and chat still use Omi servers with BYOK or custom transcription. Raw-audio opt-out still sends transcripts; later-synced pendant recordings use Omi transcription.

Openness

  1. hardwareopen sourceSource
  2. firmwareopen sourceSource
  3. companion appsopen sourceSource
  4. SDKopen sourceSource
  5. backend servicesopen sourceSource
Openness, servers & distribution
hardware

Consumer CV1 hardware files are explicitly MIT licensed; third-party component designs are separate.

Published designs: PCB schematics, KiCad sources and Gerbers · Mechanical STEP files, BOM and assembly guides

Source · MIT
firmware

Consumer and devkit firmware source; select the matching device target.

Source · MIT
companion apps

Flutter iOS/Android app and desktop sources; external service terms remain separate.

Source · MIT
SDK

Python, Swift and React Native SDKs; MIT licensing documented.

Source · MIT
backend services

Python/FastAPI backend source is published; hosted third-party services are separate.

Source · MIT
Direct / local access

Direct BLE SDK apps can operate without Omi infrastructure; Swift example uses local Whisper.

Self-hosting

Full backend self-hosting is documented but its standard setup uses Firebase/Google Cloud and external AI, vector-database and caching services.

Own backend

Custom transcription endpoints and standalone SDK apps are documented; changing transcription alone does not replace Omi summaries.

Third-party cloud

Standard backend: Firebase/Google Cloud, OpenAI, Pinecone, Redis, Hugging Face and configured speech services; exact dependencies vary by deployment

Distribution notes

Prompt and integration apps are reviewed under community guidelines; submission does not guarantee approval.

Company & funding

Based Hardware Inc.

Reported outside funding; financing instruments and ownership Unknown

Disclosed funding
≈ USD 3Mreported total · as of 2026-07-10

Reported company funding; instrument and round breakdown not disclosed. Regional reporting attributes the figure to the founder meeting; primary financing announcement and precise scope remain unverified. Do not add older reported totals.

Latest disclosed valuation
Not disclosed

Not disclosed in the reviewed evidence.

Among makers in the index

Disclosed funding of the 32 makers in the index that publish a total, on a log scale in USD. Other currencies are placed at approximate rates; totals differ in date and coverage. Based Hardware sits above 4 of the other 31.

Company

Parent/subsidiary relationships not established in reviewed sources.

Brands: Omi, Based Hardware

Investors on record

InvestorRoleRound
Tim DraperReported company investor; round allocation UnknownUnknown
Dropbox VenturesReported company investor; round allocation UnknownUnknown

Not yet verified: round count and round history. A missing record does not imply zero funding.

Compare

Independent index — figures are approximate and editorial, not official spec sheets. Methodology. Last reviewed 2026-10-31.