Wearable Index
Brilliant Labs · Glasses

Halo

Shipping

The Brilliant Labs Halo is a $399 pair of smart glasses, shipping since 2025. Now-shipping second-gen all-day AI glasses with a full-color micro-OLED display, published hardware designs and firmware source, and voice-driven 'vibe' app building.

Compare this device
Brilliant Labs Halo — glasses worn on the face
Image sourceBrilliant Labs

Generations

GenerationYearStatusPriceWeight
Halo 2025 Shipping $399 Just over 40 g
Frame 2024 Shipping $349 39 g

Specifications by generation

Brilliant Labs Halo
Image sourceBrilliant Labs

Halo

2025Shipping

Now-shipping second-gen all-day AI glasses with a full-color micro-OLED display, published hardware designs and firmware source, and voice-driven 'vibe' app building.

Category
Glasses
Worn
Face
Release
2025
Price
$399
Weight
Just over 40 g
Sensors & hardware
  • Motion IMU
  • Camera Camera (low-power optical sensor)
  • Display Display (full-color micro-OLED)
  • Audio Microphone (dual)Bone-conduction audio
  • Compute Compute / SoC (Alif B1)
  • Connectivity Bluetooth (5.3)

Developer access

  • Brilliant SDK public stable
    • Lua execution
    • Display, optical sensor, microphone and audio controls
    • Bluetooth data exchange
    • Python
    • Flutter
    • Web Bluetooth

    Hardware required; supported host Bluetooth stack/browser and generation-specific protocol; cloud AI credentials depend on the app.

Documentation
public
App distribution
available

The maker says Miniapps can be shared through its App Store; submission, review and sideloading limits are Unknown.

Vendor servers
feature-dependent

The standard Noa experience includes a cloud-based AI agent. Local device control is documented independently.

Openness

  1. hardwarepartial
  2. firmwaresource-availableSource
  3. companion appsopen sourceSource
  4. SDKopen sourceSource
  5. backend servicespartialSource
Openness, servers & distribution
hardware

Hardware manual and assembly model published; complete schematics and editable PCB design files were not verified.

Published designs: Full-assembly STL model

firmware

The repository license restricts execution to Alif semiconductor devices; public source does not make the entire firmware unrestricted open source.

Source · Alif Semiconductor Software License Agreement; additional open-source component terms
companion apps

Published Flutter Noa app source; this does not establish that every current app-store binary matches it.

Source · ISC; per-file exceptions
SDK

Brilliant SDK provides device controls; legacy Frame SDKs have separate packages.

Source · BSD-3-Clause
backend services

Noa assistant source is published; completeness of the current hosted agent and third-party AI services is Unknown.

Source · ISC
Direct / local access

Lua and Bluetooth protocol provide direct host-to-device controls.

Self-hosting

Published assistant source is available; equivalence to the complete hosted backend is Unknown.

Own backend

Custom host apps can implement their own Bluetooth workflows; AI provider requirements depend on that app.

Third-party cloud

Noa cloud agent; third-party model dependencies vary by app

Distribution notes

Manufacturer product-page claim; a dedicated canonical store URL was not verified.

Brilliant Labs Frame
Image sourceIMBOLDN

Frame

2024Shipping

Open-source AI glasses with a single-eye color display.

Category
Glasses
Worn
Face
Release
2024
Price
$349
Weight
39 g
Sensors & hardware
  • Camera Camera
  • Display Display (micro-OLED)
  • Audio Microphone

Developer access

  • Brilliant SDK public stable
    • Lua execution
    • Display, optical sensor, microphone and audio controls
    • Bluetooth data exchange
    • Python
    • Flutter
    • Web Bluetooth

    Hardware required; supported host Bluetooth stack/browser and generation-specific protocol; cloud AI credentials depend on the app.

Documentation
public
Vendor servers
feature-dependent

The standard Noa experience includes a cloud-based AI agent. Local device control is documented independently.

Openness

  1. hardwareopen sourceSource
  2. firmwareopen sourceSource
  3. companion appsopen sourceSource
  4. SDKopen sourceSource
  5. backend servicespartialSource

Not yet verified: app distribution.

Openness, servers & distribution
hardware

Custom firmware flashing requires destructive disassembly to access the debug port.

Published designs: Frame and charging-cradle schematics · Mechanical design downloads

Source · ISC; per-file exceptions
firmware

Published MCU firmware and FPGA RTL; review bundled component licenses.

Source · ISC; per-file exceptions
companion apps

Published Flutter Noa app source; this does not establish that every current app-store binary matches it.

Source · ISC; per-file exceptions
SDK

Brilliant SDK provides device controls; legacy Frame SDKs have separate packages.

Source · BSD-3-Clause
backend services

Noa assistant source is published; completeness of the current hosted agent and third-party AI services is Unknown.

Source · ISC
Direct / local access

Lua and Bluetooth protocol provide direct host-to-device controls.

Self-hosting

Published assistant source is available; equivalence to the complete hosted backend is Unknown.

Own backend

Custom host apps can implement their own Bluetooth workflows; AI provider requirements depend on that app.

Third-party cloud

Noa cloud agent; third-party model dependencies vary by app

App distribution

Community projects and SDK examples are documented; a reviewed third-party app marketplace was not verified.

Company & funding

Brilliant Labs Ltd.

Venture funded as of February 2024; current ownership details Unknown

Disclosed funding
USD 6Mreported total · as of 2024-02-08

Reported company financing to date; equity/venture financing, instrument breakdown not disclosed. Historical disclosed total; not a sum of the separately reported seed announcements.

Latest disclosed valuation
Not disclosed

Not disclosed in the reviewed evidence.

Among makers in the index

Disclosed funding of the 32 makers in the index that publish a total, on a log scale in USD. Other currencies are placed at approximate rates; totals differ in date and coverage. Brilliant Labs sits above 10 of the other 31.

Company

Parent/subsidiary relationships not established in reviewed sources.

Investors on record

InvestorRoleRound
John HankeInvestor; amount and lead role not disclosedUnknown
Coho VCNamed company backer; exact round allocation UnknownUnknown

Not yet verified: round count and round history. A missing record does not imply zero funding.

Compare

Independent index — figures are approximate and editorial, not official spec sheets. Methodology. Last reviewed 2026-10-31.